Kewell wins Oceania award for the third time | World Soccer

Liverpool midfielder Harry Kewell was named as Oceania’s footballer of the year for the third time in six seasons.

Kewell joins New Zealand’s Wynton Rufer as the only players to win the award three times when he topped the annual poll. Kewell finished ahead of former team mate Leeds United Mark Viduka with New Zealand’s Ryan Nelsen third.

“I’m proud to equal Wynton’s record and would like to thank the people who voted for me,” Kewell said on the Oceania Football Confederation website.

“I will also try my best to break it and hope to produce enough good football to keep them voting for me.”

Kewell also confirmed he had no intention of retiring from international football.

“I’ve told (Australia coach) Frank Farina that if I’m fit and well, I will be there for him and that includes the Oceania World Cup qualifying series this year,” Kewell said.

“And stories I would rather play for Liverpool than Australia are totally wrong. I was asked what I would like with Liverpool and said to win a Premiership. Australia and the World Cup were never mentioned in the question.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s